Oh The Places We’ll Go!

Me and the husband- 6 weeks- a truck and 6 states. We’re road tripping! It’s that time of year when residents living in the Valley of the Sun flee in search of cooler climates. Well we are happily jumping on that bandwagon. California, Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah and Nevada are all calling our name! Not too many people have the luxury of being able to take off so much time but we have been blessed in that department. My husband works as a massage therapist for a fancy shmancy resort that drastically slooooows down in the summer. They generously approved his requested time off and I since I am self employed, I had no issues getting the time off from my boss. (And for anyone reading this thinking we will have an empty house for 6 weeks in case you might want to “stop” by for some belongings, we will have a house/pet sitter, so maybe next time.)

Only a few days left and we have lots to do! How does one pack for 6 weeks? We will be camping, staying in hotels, staying with friends and using timeshare. We are attending a wedding, will be galavanting through a few cities, hiking and will most likely experience a wide array of weather conditions. So basically I need to be able to fit everything I own into a couple of suitcases. Huh.

Our expectations are exceedingly high. Is this foolish? Perhaps. We just kinda thought that this needs to be the most epic summer EVER. We plan to laugh and play, dance and swim, reconnect with friends and family, hoop and sleep in. I am looking to this summer to be a journey of continued self discovery. I also want it to be a strengthening and intimate opportunity to connect with my husband. We have a wonderful and happy marriage but being in the car with anyone for 6 weeks can sometimes be challenging. Fortunately we both have a laid back sense of adventure and humor!

My plan is to blog from the road- when we have access to the inter-web anyway. I believe I am correct in my assumption that you will all want to see where I am and what I am doing. It’s going to be a fabulous trip so why wouldn’t you? So pack your mental bags and let’s get ready to go!!

2 thoughts on “Oh The Places We’ll Go!

Leave a Reply

